33 Comments
Jan 21, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

I make my own home made pies.... way better than frozen any day...

Expand full comment
Jan 22, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

Aldi cauliflower cheese. Then add mushrooms and Peperroni

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

Caulipower! Any of them, but particularly the veggie one

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

Tree Tavern Pizza. I believe is it a small local distributor in North Jersey. I am sure you know Jersey knows pizza.

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

Vegetarian (not vegan) picks are Outsiders Pizza, Motor City Pizza, and Urban Pie. Trader Joe’s also has some solid choices with their Pesto Tomato and Grilled Vegetable pizzas, and (as an honorable mention) their Mushroom & Black Truffle flatbread.

Expand full comment

I had to look it up. It's the Wood Fired Naples Style Uncured Pepperoni Pizza from Trader Joe's. Very flavorful!

Expand full comment

I am gluten free (not by choice) but I refuse to give up pizza! I like Against the Grain's frozen the best - it is actually better than a lot of gluten pizzas and you get a pretty big pie. If I'm out, I like Mod Pizza's GF and cauliflower crusts a lot.

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2022·edited Jan 21, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

I'm a huge fan of Daiya's GF cheese pizza. I heat it ungarnished for 16 minutes, and then I top it with goat cheese and sautéed sage pork sausage, and put it back in the oven for another 7 minutes. Crunchy crust, perfectly melted cheese. It's divine.

Expand full comment
Jan 21, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

Is there really "good" frozen pizza? Mostly I'm shoot for "good" sauce because that seems to be the failure state for frozen pizza. Amy's is pretty good. American Flatbread, out of Vermont, is pretty good, too. But here's my new go-to alternative: https://www.seriouseats.com/extra-crispy-bar-style-tortilla-pizza-recipe

Expand full comment

I don't do frozen pizza because they have tomato sauce (I'm intolerant to tomatoes) but go to delivery pizza is Little Ceasars and usually Hawaiian or Canadian.

Expand full comment