13 Comments
Feb 19, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

I really love the show 911 Lone Star (and no, not just because it has Rob Lowe in it.)

Expand full comment

I started watching Wentworth on Netflix a few weeks ago and honestly, I think that’s one of the best shows ever made. It’s kind of an Australian “Orange is the New Black” in that it follows women in prison. But honestly the characters in the acting are just so compelling. I also started watching Love is Blind even though I don’t really like reality shows. (I don’t know why I’m watching it – I guess there was just something compelling about the premise.) I just finished the first season that came out in 2020, and I’m just aghast. Everything is going in one direction and then you find out at the very end that one of the participants wasn’t at all what they seemed. I started watching season two but they’re actually releasing episodes on a schedule (curses, Netflix!) so that’s probably a good thing. It’s like the absolute worst guilty pleasure “why the hell am I watching this but I can’t look away” kind of show.

Also on the whole point of the car – when I was 12 I spent the week at my aunt’s house. There was a shopping center a short bike ride away. One day I was returning to my bike and I saw somebody messing with it and trying to unlock it. I yelled at them - get away from my bike! Only then did I realize that it wasn’t actually mine – I had locked mine up at an entirely different rack, and I slunk away with my tail between my legs.. Several decades later, I’m *still* embarrassed. 😬

Expand full comment

If you want to watch another crime-centered show skewering high society, check out Pam & Tommy on Hulu. It’s very funny and gives a great perspective on how and why the sex tape happened. Plus, Jason Mantzoukas voices Tommy’s penis!

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

Honestly, I have almost opened someone else's car door. The shock is real.

Speaking of the shock. On Valentine's Day we watched the Bride of Frankenstein and I was absolutely floored to find out that the Bride is in the movie all of five minutes. I couldn't get over this for days. (Or maybe I was higher than I thought).

I've been screaming to people to watch Yellowjackets. It's so dark and good nostalgia in the way that it actually FEELS like being a teenager in the 90s without a lot of cheap nostalgia we get these days. As you know, I love reality tv, and Housewives of SLC and Season 3 of the Circle are killing it for me lately. But for real, RuPaul's Drag Race is always a feel good favorite.

Expand full comment

Just finished Inventing Anna and enjoyed it, although I don't think we will ever truly understand what goes on in her head. If you like foreign murder mysteries, I recommend "The Chestnut Man". If you have HBO/Max streaming service, there is a fairly new comedy that's quite sweet called "Somebody, Somewhere" that is really growing on me. Also on HBO is The Gilded Age which we are really liking too.

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

The Tinder Swindler is also about a con artist. It was an enjoyable watch

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

I am watching both of Ricky Gervaise's series on Netflix -- "After Life" and "Derek". Such an odd mix of pathos, belly laughs, grief, insight, sheer joy, irreverence -- a complete fusion of opposites. I laugh so hard and then I cry and then I think about his messages for hours. I knew he was a fine comedian, but had no idea what a great writer and actor he is. And he's totally desensitized me to foul language. (It is just words.) Have a look!

Expand full comment