15 Comments

There are many Klosterman books on our shelf. Years ago, I published a short story called “Invasion of the Kloster-Men” in my comedy magazine, and he bought a copy from our web store. So I think of him as having a good sense of humor about himself!

Expand full comment

I did not know either of those facts, both of which seem like things I should’ve known. (Fun fact: during SXSW in 2012 I believe, I was walking through a hotel lobby and Quentin Tarantino was sitting alone at a table at the bar. I desperately wanted to go up to him and act like I had no idea who he was and ask if I could join him. I guess that’s a missed connection!).

Anyway, that book sounds like a riot. The 90s were when I moved to Austin, TX after getting my MA. I remember getting my first Internet account in 1993 and spending time in a local chat room of random weirdos and using email on various listserves. I wore some weird clothes and loved my Mac SE and then my Performa. I learned about the web in 1995, way before most people. I taught classes on HTML to build websites. In fact, I built the very first Irish history website in the world, (which according to my webcounter had over a million visits before I took it down). I watched Beverly Hills 90210 and cable access TV and did I mention I wore some really stupid clothes? Those were the days.

Expand full comment
Feb 19, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

What's Crystal Pepsi? (Early 2000's baby)

Expand full comment
Feb 18, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

1990s... the fanny pack, Panda Pops, Beavis and Butthead, Grunge, light-up sneakers, roller blades, and the inception of a little thing ... what did they call it? Oh, yes, the World Wide Web.

Expand full comment
Feb 18, 2022Liked by Michael Estrin

So this is weird. The 90s were my 20s. And yet if you were to ask me what they were about, or what are the themes, I could not tell you. This is partially because I was drunk. But beyond that I think it’s because I haven’t been exposed to a lot of 90s analysis in the way I have with the 60s 70s and 80s. If I read Chucks book I might start to get a sense of what the 90s was about. But I’m not sure I want that. Maybe I just want my own dumb memories completely free of context.

Expand full comment